Can be improved: Other people think this entry needs to be improved.

Describe the 4 parts of the urethra?

[Improve wording]Add to Watch-list
Your rating: None Average: 2 (2 votes)
Note: this is a user generated content: See disclaimer | Report abuse
First answer by Cristina Roz. Last edit by jenny.
The urethra is divided into four parts in men (named after their location):
* Pre-prostatic urethra: This is the intramural portion of the urethra that is to say which passes through the bladder wall to reach the prostate. Its length and diameter depend on the fullness of the bladder. It measures between 0.5 and 1.5 cm long.
* Prostatic urethra: This is the part that passes through the prostate. It includes 3 kinds of openings: those of the ejaculatory duct, those of prostatic channels and those of the prostatic utricle.
* Membranous urethra: A short (1 or 2 cm) and narrow party in the deep part of the perineum. Cowper's glands open at its level.
* Spongy urethra or penile urethra: Part of the urethra which traverses the spongiosum corpus of the penis and measures 15 to 16 cm long; urethral glands or glands of Littre has lead on it.

Question alternates

Our contributors said this page should be displayed for the questions below. (Where do these come from?)
If any of these are not a genuine rephrasing of the question, please help out and edit these alternates


This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
LimbidoGuru does not evaluate or guarantee the accuracy of any content.