What are the characteristics of the different phases of lochia?

[Improve wording]Add to Watch-list
No votes yet
Note: this is a user generated content: See disclaimer | Report abuse
First answer by jenny. Last edit by jenny.
Lochia generally has three phases on the basis of the colour of the discharge:

* The first 1-2 weeks are characterised by a bright red discharge called lochia-rubra

* The discharge then turns brownish red and thinner and is called lochia-serosa

* After a few weeks, discharge turns yellow-white and is called lochia-alba

Question alternates

Our contributors said this page should be displayed for the questions below. (Where do these come from?)
If any of these are not a genuine rephrasing of the question, please help out and edit these alternates
What are the different phases of lochia?


This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
LimbidoGuru does not evaluate or guarantee the accuracy of any content.