What are the stages of development of ovarian cancer?

[Improve wording]Add to Watch-list
No votes yet
Note: this is a user generated content: See disclaimer | Report abuse
First answer by jenny. Last edit by jenny.
According to FIGO classification:

Stage I - tumor limited to one or both ovaries
. IA - cancer involves one ovary, capsule intact, no tumor on ovarian surface, no malignant cells in ascites or peritoneal washings
. IB - involves both ovaries, capsule intact, no tumor on ovarian surface; washing and ascites negative
. IC - tumor limited to ovaries with any characteristic of the following: rupture of the capsule on the ovary surface, positive peritoneal washings
Stage II - pelvic extension or existence of implantation.
. IIA - extension on the uterus or fallopian tubes; negative washings
. IIB - extension to other pelvic structures; negative washings
. IIC - extension of the basin with positive peritoneal washings
Stage III - microscopic peritoneal implants outside the pelvis, or limited to the pelvis with extension into the small intestine or omentum
. IIIA - microscopic peritoneal metastases pelvis
. IIIB - macroscopic peritoneal metastases pelvis under 2 cm in size
. IIIC - peritoneal metastases pelvis> 2 cm or lymph node metastases (metastases, para-aortic lymph nodes are considered as regional lymph nodes)
Stage IV - metastatic to the liver or outside the peritoneal cavity.

Question alternates

Our contributors said this page should be displayed for the questions below. (Where do these come from?)
If any of these are not a genuine rephrasing of the question, please help out and edit these alternates


This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
LimbidoGuru does not evaluate or guarantee the accuracy of any content.